Cherish your body.       Balance your mind.

What To Expect from the Quizzes?

  • The quizzes consist of 30 comprehensive questions total (20 for the Dosha Quiz and 10 for the Guna Quiz) with multiple choice answers to select from.
  • Average expected length of time to take the both quizzes is approximately 7-10 minutes.
  • To get your results and bonuses, be sure to fill in your name and email address after completing the questions.
  • You can take the quizzes as many times as you like. Just make sure you go all the way to the end and get your results before closing your browser and reopening to access the quiz again.

What are Doshas?

Dosha means elements. There are 5 elements that everything in the world is made from- Ether, Air, Fire, Water and Earth. In Ayurveda we group elements together to only mention 3. Ether/Air, Fire/Water, Earth/Water. These are called Vata, Pitta and Kapha.

Your body and mind’s health are determined by how balanced your elements are and how much they move around. The more balance of air, fire and earth you have the more health you will enjoy.

Here is a short explanation of Dosha traits.

Our Vata energy helps us to explore creativity and inquisitiveness, express ourselves, and remain in motion. When excessive, Vata energy can cause dry skin, insomnia, constipation, and various nervous disorders.

Our Pitta energy drives us to achieve, accomplish goals, and exhibit fiery qualities like passion and anger. When excessive, Pitta energy can cause indigestion, liver complaints, bloating, fatigue, and other ailments.

Our Kapha energy helps us to feel grounded, facilitates our nurturing of others, and helps us exhibit a calming presence in stressful situations. When excessive, Kapha energy can cause weight gain, diabetes, and a feeling of lethargy.

What are Gunas?

When an Ayurvedic practitioner diagnoses a patient’s conditions and observes their general health, they will use the relationship of the patient’s three doshas to determine how best to proceed with achieving and sustaining greater health in the body.
While this tradition assigns these three doshas to our bodies and constitutions, it also assigns three different qualities to the mind. These three qualities are known as gunas, and while doshas relate to our basic nature, gunas relate to our thoughts at any given point of time in our life. The three gunas are rajas, tamas, and sattva.

The rajas mind is active, intense, and has the potential to become incendiary and aggressive. Those with a raja-like mind are prone to argument and can be challenging but also very focused with a one pointed mind.

The tamas mind is lethargic, slow, and has the potential to become negative and destructive. Those with a tamas-like mind are prone to disengaging from situations and becoming lazy but also being easy going too.

The sattva mind is balanced and pure. When a person finds a sense of truth and light in their life, they are more open to creating sattvic qualities in their mind. Many people might perpetuate sattvic qualities in any given moment, but truly sattvic people are particularly rare as the mind tends to move through all three gunas.

Cherish your body. Balance your mind.